DWI Lawyers in Laredo
Take Action Within 15 Days of Your Arrest to Protect Your Driver’s License
An arrest for DWI in Texas can result in license suspension, thousands of dollars in fines, jail time, and higher auto insurance premiums. If you have been charged with driving while intoxicated, you cannot afford to let the legal system have its way with you. You have the right to defend against your charges, and Gonzalez Druker Law Firm is here to help you do that.
Our Laredo DWI attorneys have handled many of these cases and know what type of arguments can be made to get your charges dropped or reduced. We have a proven track record of success and are willing to do whatever it takes to ensure that your rights and freedom remain protected during this time.
What Constitutes a “Drunk Driver” in Texas?
In the State of Texas, it is illegal for any individual to operate a motor vehicle when their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level is .08% or higher. When the driver’s BAC levels meet or exceed this threshold, they are considered to be driving drunk and will be charged with DWI.
There are stricter requirements in place for drivers of commercial vehicles and those who are under the age of 21. Commercial drivers are considered legally drunk when their BAC is .04% or more. Persons who have not reached the age of 21 are not permitted to drive with any detectable amount of alcohol in their system.
Penalties for Drunk Driving in Laredo
Your first question after getting arrested for DWI is likely “What is this going to cost me?” Having handled many DWI cases, our criminal defense attorneys know exactly what penalties you can expect for a DWI conviction.
There is a range of punishments for DWI, depending primarily on the number of previous DWI offenses the driver has within five years. In other words, first-time offenders will face less severe consequences than a second- or third-time offender.
The penalties for DWI include:
- First-offense DWI: a maximum fine of $2,000, up to 180 days in jail, and 90-day license suspension
- Second-offense DWI: a maximum fine of $4,000, up to one year in jail, and one-year license suspension
- Third-offense DWI: a maximum fine of $10,000, up to 10 years in prison, and one-year license suspension
Enhanced penalties can also be imposed for any aggravating factors. For example, DWI with a child passenger under the age of 15 can result in 180 days to two years in prison and a maximum fine of $10,000.
Get a Skilled Legal Advocate on Your Side
Regardless of whether this is your first offense or fifth offense, Gonzalez Druker Law Firm is here to help you build a strong case to defeat your charges. You only have 15 days from the date of your arrest to request a hearing to protect your driving privileges. Failure to do so can result in the automatic suspension of your license. Our Laredo DWI lawyers are ready to help you with this hearing and all other aspects of your case.
Call us at (956) 436-5700 now to discuss your legal rights and options at this time. We can help you make an informed decision about how to proceed with your case.